[Reread] The Shadow Rising – Wheel of Time

Wow, I’ve really forgotten how long these books are… But I am well into my reread. I just finished the fourth book of the series, so I thought I’d jot down a few of the thoughts that popped into my head on my second time reading this.

  • According to Wikipedia, “at 393,823 words, The Shadow Rising is the longest book of The Wheel of Time although it has fewer pages than ‘Lord of Chaos.'”
  • Given that information, it will probably take me all summer to get to book 14.
  • Rand’s arc is definitely the most exciting one in this book. His face-off with Couladin that leads the Aiel clan chief to declare him the Car’a’carn is so well done; the tension and climax practically leap off the pages. I could picture the scene basically akin to the Dothraki proclaiming their allegiance to Daenerys in Game of Thrones.
  • I had completely forgotten about the history of the Aiel and their connection with the Tinkers, but wow, what a reveal. This world and its history really does take on a life of its own.
  • Perrin’s arc and his victory against the Trollocs and the Whitecloaks probably comes a close second.
  • Mat is still whiny and insufferable in this book, but I’m excited for the ones to follow because his arc gets significantly more attention and importance.
  • It’s so exciting reading this series a second time because as each new character is introduced and joins the cast of characters (Egeanin, Logain, Amathera, Faile, to name a few), I can anticipate and see how Robert Jordan is setting up the events to come in later books.
Leave a Reply

