[Reread] Wheel of Time – Robert Jordan

I’m currently in the beginning of my epic endeavor to reread Robert Jordan’s equally epic Wheel of Time series. A bit of background – I began reading these books when I was in middle school. I know, I know, the content is WAY too mature for a middle school child, but somehow no one ever stopped me?

Anyway, I made it to book 13 and waited and waited for the final book. Then, I learned that Robert Jordan had died and this wonderful, complex series that had essentially ruled my childhood would be left unfinished. For those of you who don’t know, every book in this series is a monster in itself. I own most of them in the Tor paperback version. Lord of Chaos, the longest one, clocks in at a whopping 987 pages, and the “shortest” one, The Great Hunt, is 681.

The brilliant Brandon Sanderson picked up the series and finished the final book in 2013. By that time, I was in high school, and didn’t even have the time to think about finishing what I had left off.

It’s now 2017. I am determined to finish this series and find out what happens to all of the characters I grew up with and this hugely complicated and populated world. Since I took a 7 year hiatus from the series, I’m starting back at square/book one (gotta refresh my memory!), and I’m going to do a full read-through without a break. That’s right, I’m gonna read all 14 books in one go. I’m currently at Book 4, and I’ll try to record my thoughts as I re-familiarize myself into this epic fantasy series, its characters and its history.

Leave a Reply

